Home » Sacraments


The Catholic Church recognizes seven sacraments, as summarized below. As stated in the Catechism, the seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life. The U.S. Bishops state that “through the sacraments, God shares his holiness with us so that we, in turn, can make the world holier.”


Baptism is the basis of the whole Christian life, the gateway to life in the Spirit, and the door which gives access to the other sacraments.  Read more…

Eucharist (Communion)

At every Mass, on Sundays and weekdays, we have the opportunity to receive the Eucharist – the body and blood of Jesus Christ. Read more….

Reconciliation (Confession)

Reconciliation (confession) is our opportunity to receive pardon through God’s mercy for our sins, and to be reconciled with the Church community. Read more….


In the Sacrament of Confirmation, one receives the empowerment, grace, or gift of the Holy Spirit. Read more….


As Roman Catholics, we believe in marriage as a sacrament, a living sign and instrument of Jesus in our lives. Read more…

Anointing of the Sick

The Church continues Jesus’ mission of mercy through the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick. Read more…

Holy Orders and Church Ministry

The Sacrament of Holy Orders is for men called to be a priest or deacon. Other vocations to church ministry for both men and women include religious life and lay ministry. Read more…

“We have come to know and to believe in the love God has for us.” – 1 John 4:16